Question:

How do I backup a user?

How do I back up a selected user on a Maestro?

Applies To: EyeMax, Maestro, V/Vmax, V/Vmax+

Article ID: 5681  |  Published: 2/21/2014  |  Last Updated: 2/21/2014



Answer:

The Series 5 software enables you to create a backup copy of a selected user onto an external media source like a USB storage device. This process will store all of the software settings and custom files (including pages, pictures, sounds and user settings) that are associated with the selected User in a new file. The file can be shared with other Maestro, V+ or Vmax+ devices, other users on the same Maestro device or Windows computers running the DynaVox Series 5 software.

You can create a backup of the selected user on a USB storage device following these steps:

  1. If you are backing up to a file sharing device, connect it to your Maestro device (the USB storage device connects to one of the USB ports on the device.
  2. Select the blue Main Menu button in the title bar.
  3. Select Setup.
  4. Select Setup Menu.
  5. Select the User Manager button.
  6. In the left viewport, the current User will automatically be highlighted in bold. You can also scroll to select the name of the user you want to back up.
  7. Select the Back Up Selected User button.
  8. A window will open, asking if you would like to backup your photos.  Choose Yes or No at this point if you've imported images or taken pictures on the device.
  9. A window will open, asking if you want to include the email settings and email information. Select Yes or No
  10. Select the Show All Directories check box.
  11. In the left viewport, select the icon that represents the file sharing device that is connected to your device (for example, a USB storage device is usually displayed as drive letter D in the left viewport).
  12. Select the Name text box at the bottom. The system keyboard will be presented.
  13. Use the system keyboard to enter a name for the backup file. It is a good idea to incorporate the name of the User and the date into the file name (for example, DynaVox X X 10). The file will automatically be given a file extension of .user.
  14. Select the OK button to close the system keyboard.
  15. Once the backup is complete, you will be returned to the User Manager.


The User backup (.user) file is now saved in the selected destination.

Was This Article Helpful?