Question:

Transferring pages between users

I would like to add a page from another user into my current user. How do I transfer pages between users?

Applies To: Maestro, V/Vmax, V/Vmax+

Article ID: 3097  |  Published: 6/18/2012  |  Last Updated: 6/18/2012



Answer:

Each user environment contains a set of communication pages that are specific to that user.  You can add pages from another user environment into your current user environment by using the export/import process.  This will add a separate copy of the page into your current user, leaving the original page in the source user.

Note: The Source user contains the page or pages that will be transferred. The Current user is the user environment that will receive the page or pages.

I. Change into the Source user and export the desired pages

  1. Select the main menu button in the title bar.
  2. Select Setup.
  3. Select Setup Menu.
  4. Select User Manager.
  5. Select the source user in the list.
  6. Select Change to Selected User.
  7. Select Yes to change into the source user.
  8. Select the main menu button in the title bar.
  9. Select Setup.
  10. Select Tools Menu.
  11. Select Page Browser.
  12. In the left viewport, select the folder that contains the page(s) that you would like to export.
  13. In the right viewport, select the box next to the page or pages that you would like to export.
  14. Select the Sharing Operations button.
  15. Select Package from Pages
  16. Select the Show All Directories checkbox.
  17. In the left viewport, select the plus sign [+] next to the C: drive. Note: If it is a Closed device or you do not see the C drive or 5100 folder, skip to step 19 and select the Shared folder.
  18. In the left viewport, select the plus sign [+] next to the 5100 folder.
  19. In the left viewport, select the Shared folder. 
  20. Select the Name text box and name the package of pages then select the OK button.
  21. Once you receive the message that the pages were exported successfully, select OK.
  22. Select the OK button to exit Page Browser.
  23. Select the OK button to exit Tools Menu.

II. Change into the Current user and import the desired pages

  1. Select the main menu button in the title bar.
  2. Select Setup.
  3. Select Setup Menu.
  4. Select User Manager.
  5. Select the current user in the list.
  6. Select Change to Selected User.
  7. Select Yes to change into the current user.
  8. Select the main menu button in the title bar.
  9. Select Setup.
  10. Select Tools Menu.
  11. Select Page Browser.
  12. In the left viewport, select the folder that you would like to add the new pages to.
  13. Select the Sharing Operations button.
  14. Select Import Package.
  15. Select the Show All Directories checkbox.
  16. In the left viewport, select the plus sign [+] next to the C: drive. If it is a Closed device or you do not see the C drive or 5100 folder, skip to step 18 and select the Shared folder.
  17. In the left viewport, select the plug sign [+] next to the 5100 folder.
  18. In the left viewport, select the Shared folder.
  19. In the right viewport, select the box next to the package file created earlier that you would like to import into the current user.
  20. Select OK.
  21. Select Yes to overwrite any current pages with the same name.
  22. Once you receive the message that the pages were imported successfully, select OK.
  23. Select the OK button to exit the Page Browser.
  24. Select the OK button to exit the Tools Menu.
  25. You may now access your imported pages and link them to existing pages within the current user.
Was This Article Helpful?